quarta-feira, 2 de setembro de 2015

What is the Schengen area?

Migrants and refugees come mainly from countries in Africa or the Middle East such as Syria or Iraq. These people are trying to enter the Schengen area because, for them, this area represents the freedom to cross borders without the need for visas, or Passport inspection.

What is the Schengen area?

In June 1985 five Member States â€" France, Belgium, West Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands â€" signed an agreement allowing the free movement of goods and people. Fall so the borders between these countries. The Treaty is named after the small town of Schengen, in Luxembourg, where it was signed.

The agreement was completed in 1990 and entered into force in 1995.

Currently, the Schengen area covers 26 European countries, 22 of which belong to the European Union: Portugal, Germany, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Hungary, Malta, Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Slovenia, Slovakia, Finland and Sweden.

Outside the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

To Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus and Romania are applicant countries to join the Schengen area. The United Kingdom and Ireland remain outside.

The Treaty allows for free movement of more than 400 million people, whether citizens or resident in Europe.

The nationalists blame the Schengen area by the ease with which migrants and refugees traveling from the South to the North of Europe.

In 2004, to ensure the security of the entire common area the European Council created the European border control Agency.

If You Enjoyed This, Take 5 Seconds To Share It